Hide and I’ll Seek: The Report

https://i2.wp.com/node1.bbcimg.co.uk/iplayer/images/episode/b018fmrf_640_360.jpg

The next day after school, Aston was supposed to meet Mace at the library to work on their project. Yesterday, Mace really annoyed Aston.  Just because she hated her father doesn’t mean that Aston had to hate his father.

Before Aston went to the Library, he went to the guidance office to get the papers for a work permit. He wondered if these work permit papers were going to work in Texas. As Aston was looking at the papers, he looked up to see Roxie talking to one of the guidance counselors, Mrs. Smith.  He didn’t like to eavesdrop on people but he still listened.

“Roxie, all you have to do is tell your social worker that you don’t want to live there.” Mrs. Smith whispered. Roxie begins to walk out of the office and into the guidance office main room.

“It doesn’t matter Mrs. Smith, I am graduating this year so for the summer I’m going to move with my aunt and then I will be going to UCLA in August. I don’t have to see my parents again. I will be fine” Roxie replied and then she smiled.

Aston decided to stop listening to their conversation. So he begins to walk towards the exit when he saw Mace walk into the office. She looked at Aston and she was surprised.

“Aston, what are you doing here.” She asked.

“Just getting my work permit.” Aston answered. There was an awkward silence between Mace and him until Mace said “Did you know that they found five bodies downtown?  All of them had their guts ripped out.”

“No, I didn’t know that.”

“And it turns out that they all was from our school. This is the weird part. They were all from Mrs. Charlie’s 4th period class.” Aston and Mace continued to talk but then someone tapped Aston on the shoulder. He turned around to see Roxie and he tried to hide his smiled.

“Aston?” Roxie said. Mace look at her with the most serious face.

“Yea?”

“I know this is last-minute but can you take me home today?”

“I’m not going home directly after school. Is that fine?” Aston asked. Roxie was about to say something but Mace cut her.

“Wow, Aston should stop what he’s doing and take Roxie home because what we do doesn’t matter.” She said sarcastically.  Aston just put his head down.  “You know what’s funny? Pretty girls, like us, always take advantage of the little guy, right?”

“Roxie, you don’t have to answer.” Aston said until Mace cut him off.

“No she does.” Mace said with a serious face. Roxie laughed and Mace just looked at her.

“It’s funny how ugly girls always think they’re pretty, and how pathetic they make themselves look in front of the person they like.” Roxie answered and Mace put her head down. Roxie continued to quietly laugh. “Aston, I can stay after school so that’s cool. I’ll be in the art room.”

After that Roxie left.

“So, you ready to go to the library?” Aston asked Mace.

“I’ll meet you there. I have to go see Mr. Boris with Warren.”  Mr. Boris was the other guidance counselor. Mace walked into Mr. Boris ‘office. As usual she saw Warren across from Mr. Boris and an empty seat next to Warren that was just waiting for her.

“Can we hurry this up? I got a project I have to do.” Mace told Mr. Boris and Warren.

“You were late because you were talking to your loser friend.”  Warren uttered. Mace did a fake laugh and sat down.

Aston heard them and then left to go to the library. Forty-five minutes later, Mace walked into the library.

“Uh, I can’t stand Mr. Boris. He always has to prove he’s right. He really went at our necks today saying that Warren and I are rude and don’t care about other’s people feelings.” Mace told Aston as she came to sit next at the computer table.

Aston stared into the book. Mace notices Aston just looking in the book and not replying.

“What? You think I’m mean?” Mace questioned.

“Yes.” Aston replied and they laughed. “Well, you’re not as mean as Warren.”  Mace laughed harder.

“Warren is a stuck up rich kid. I’m going to tell you Warren’s story. He got in trouble with his family last year’s New Years Eve. He trashed some car or something. His parents were so fed up with him, they brought him here to scare him into being a good rich son. Instead of being scared, Warren became quarterback of our football team and you know the rest.”

Aston already kind of knew. He always asked why would a rich kid come here to a public school.

“Wow. Let’s get back to this project.” Aston said. Mace and Aston begin to work on their project. They were in the library for hours.

“You guys, I’m leaving around 7:30. You’re going to have to leave, too. The janitor will lock up after,” The Librarian announced. Both Mace and Aston nodded.

“I can’t believe I’ve been in school for hours and we haven’t accomplished anything.” Mace complained.

“I know, why did we choose the Puritans?” Aston asked.

“Because I was sure I wasn’t going to do it,” Mace said as she got up and walked over to the bookshelf. She had this peculiar walk that was confident but she still slouch like she had a sad life.

“You know what? I think we should stop. I’m going to go get Roxie. Then I’ll take both of you guys home.” Aston said.

“Whatever, I’ll just pack up.”

Aston walked to the Art room and saw Roxie sitting there. She was doing her homework. She looked up and saw Aston watching her.

“You ready?” Roxie asked.

“Yea, I can’t believe you’ve been in here for like 4 hours,” Aston said

“I’ve only been her for like 2 hours. I was watching the football practice.”

“Oh Okay.” It was silent while she pack up her stuff. They left the art room and began to walk towards the library. They talked about school, work, and other things until the lights went off in the hallway. It was completely dark. Roxie pulled out her key chain flash light.

“Is anybody still in school?” Roxie asked.

“If they weren’t, the lights in the hallway still would have been on,” Aston replied. He told Roxie to point the flashlight towards the library. The hallway looked spooky. But the school had windows and it was still light outside. Aston wanted to know why there wasn’t any light in the school.

Out of nowhere, they heard screaming. It sounded like it came from the library. Aston thought of Mace and ran towards the library. He walked in and saw the lights blinking on and off. There was glass on the floor. Roxie came into the room, look at the left wall and started to cry. Aston looked at the wall and saw blood all over it. He looked down at the floor and saw a trail of blood. Aston began to follow the trail until he saw a body with the guts exposed. Aston felt he was going to throw up until he saw, on another wall, more blood that spelled out:

LET THE GAMES BEGIN

© Kendyl Walker and Hide and I’ll Seek, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kendyl Walker and Hide and I’ll Seek with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Creative Commons License
Hide and I’ll Seek by Kendyl Walker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

