Thinking about College (What should I do)

Hello,

So I know a lot of Doc’s Castle Media fans are young adults and teenagers, and recently I came up with a topic about college. When choosing and applying to a college, it can be a stressful and a very important decision in your life. The main issue here is deciding what you want to be for the rest of your life! Wow, I know at this age you’re thinking about what you should wear tomorrow. But it’s something you have to think about. To make this decision easier for you, I have a list of some things I did while pondering that hard decision of what I want to be. I can honestly say you probably will find more than one thing you want to do with your life. Luckily, they have minors for that in whatever university you attend or choose to attend. Here’s my list:

Picking A College

1.) Write down a list of the top five jobs you want to have in life (these will be your majors.)

2.) Write down a list of ten schools that have that major.

3.) Pick three main majors you choose to pursue.

4.) Pick three schools you like with those majors.

5.) Think about if you really want to pursue that major, and think of all the jobs you’d get into with a degree in that major.

6.) Look at the requirements for these majors. Do you still want to do that?

7.) If yes, than look at the schools you’ve picked and see which ones have the majors. Look at least two of the three of your choices because you might want to change them later, once you’re in college. People do that quite often.

If you don’t want to go along with those requirements, than look at the next major choice that you have in mind and continue to search.

8.) Now, think of the majors you choose and see if they can go with each other like (psychology and criminal justice).

If they do, think about maybe minoring in your second career choice.

If they don’t coincide with each other, than look at the cost of the school you picked and start researching the school.

9.) You should be at the step where you picked a career or two, along with your top school.

10.) Last step, when choosing a school you should look at cost, activities, and just information about your major there and the school.

Now, this is some of the stuff I did when I pick a school.  The big thing for me was that the school I really wanted to go to didn’t accept me.  What do you do when this happens?  Go to a community college or your second pick for a year, get some college credits under your belt and then apply again. I did this and now I’m at my dream school. My major now is psychology with a minor in creative writing because I want to give advice through writing, and also write stories. I know that picking a major right now is scary. But I’ll tell you about 85% of college students change their major over and over. This is why I said pick about three of the five you really like because you can change or even minor in one of the majors you really like. I wish I had someone telling me how to do all these things when I was going through the process. But what someone else didn’t have I think the next person should, and with that being said here you go!

Peace and Love,

Vonni

Leave a Reply

