So I’m Still Alive on Dec. 21, 2012? What?!

End of the World Party

So umm, apparently the world is supposed to end today. And let me tell you that if you’re reading this post, your world is not ending because I’ve scheduled it to post exactly the time it’s suppose to end, 06:11am Baltimore, Maryland time. You’re not dead are you?

I chose this picture because I thought it shows how some people are taking this end of the world news. For the past week, I’ve been on Instagram and Twitter joking about the supposed end.  A lot of you all might have seen a few of my post. I think it’s so funny that there are people out there that really believing in this is prophecy some Mayans foresaw over 5,000 years ago to be true.I cannot take this 2012 end of the world seriously. The world was already supposed to end  at least 3 other times in my life and look at me. I’m alive! HOW?

I’ve joked about the electricity being off around the world for 3 days, Australia being attacked by Godzilla, a tidal wave coming in and wiping us out to sea, and even a meteor crashing down onto Earth. How the hell is all of this suppose to happen? Our imaginations are too wild! Like seriously, the world is not going to end today so all people please remain calm.
Mayan Calendar
According to the Mayans, today signifies a time of new beginnings, not the world ending. USA Today took the time out to interview a few Mayans for us so that they can explain what today really means to them. Today is just the beginning of a new cycle, which means it’s just a new calendar in the makings. You see, the Mayans owned 3 calendars. The one that ends today is just their longest one. Mayans say that they don’t even know were the idea that the world is supposed to end on Dec. 21, 2012 came from.

Focusing more on what they believe, Mayans believe today is a day where something inside of them and their culture will change. “People believe that they’re going to see a change, in humanity, in our thinking, that there should be a return to nature. This won’t be anything like the world ending, or a meteor crashing, or extraterrestrials arriving,” says Chan. It won’t be anything depicted in the popular culture or movies. So everyone please calm your overly excited butts down.

I’m a believer in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is my savior and according to the bible, it says we don’t know the day or time of the end of the world. So can we stop trying to guess when this day may be? Honestly, I think it’s better this way. I mean because it says he’ll come like a thief in the night, even quicker than the blink of an eye. That’s way better than any meteor or tidal waving coming and killing us all, right?

So as I’m wrapping up this blog for you all, I’m saying a quick prayer to my God, asking him to show to you that he’s the all mighty, and the only one who knows these things. Then once he shows y’all that, then we can all chill and drink some lemonade or something. But we’re not going to die today. Be happy about that.

If you want to know where I got my end of the world picture, it was found, here. You guys should get some pizza.

Share with us what you think about today being the end of the world, below.

Leave a Reply

