The Rain by C. Davis

A sharp pain just pierced my chest.

I don’t feel the warmth of blood pouring from my breast.

My body hadn’t changed and my persona didn’t differ

So I close my eyes to get a better picture.

In the little red room they call the heart

I saw pictures of my friends and family thrown down and turn apart.

This pain I felt was unknown to me

But I knew it derived from the fact that I was lonely.

Nothing in this world could ever fill this space,

The hole in my heart that has grown at a gradual pace.

As I stared down this dark, hollow pass,

I saw shards of broken, red glass.

My mind felt like the leaves that shivered in the wind

And the tunnels I call ears let the breeze all in.

I stood outside to get away from the mess

And sat on the porch to choose a solution that was best.

The summer breeze glided over my face,

But left a message that came at great haste.

It told me that a change in the world was coming suddenly

And that Mother Nature was going to show just how much love she had for me.

Then I smelled the air and could it be,

The one thing that can heal my heart and set it free.

I felt something hit me and I knew it came.

The one thing that could stop my pain, The Rain.

-C. Davis

Leave a Reply

