Chapter 4: Becoming A Man

Every night since the forthcoming of my metamorphic change

Success seems to continuously linger outside of my range.

And as daunting to me as this occurrence may seem,

My subconscious also continues to recreate for me the same sequences of a dream.

I, a lone wolf, tired and ragged, stumble upon a colony full of sheep.

I bare my fangs at my prey but what I really want to do is sleep.

I’m seated at a table with an umbrella to keep me out of the sun.

I sip my water with my head down for I was on the run.

Immediately I’m approached by a sheriff with his revolver pointed and holstered by his hand.

He calmly sits down in front of me and asks “What are your aspirations? Any future plans?”

At that moment I awake with my t-shirt soaked from a rush of cold sweat.

As if the message was that the art running away was the same as welcoming my death.

Sunlight pierced through my blinds screaming rise and shine.

No more incessant rolling around, time to get up and grind.

I packed my things and prepared for my life long journey.

Carry the memories of my loved ones so I won’t be so lonely.

The first step was hard; I hesitated when it came time to touch the pavement.

The second step was worst; the asphalt started to reflect the heat filling me with resentment.

And the journey begins forever etching my footprint into the Earth.

Now it’s on to prove to myself, ultimately, my worth.

Left, right, left, right; watch the young trooper remain focused on his march.

Soon hours turn to days and the journey slowly removes my foot’s natural arch.

Time for a pit stop for I am hungry and tired from enduring life’s test.

Served encouraging thoughts on a warm plate in order to induce a serene meditative rest.

Suddenly I jump up bloodshot eyed for my slumber didn’t go as predicted.

I’m forced to rise with the moon and the sun for there is no rest for the wicked.

Days have turned to months and I no longer want this adventure to be over.

I smile at the coming times where I will indulge on the moments of getting older.

I’ve met others who like me have gone on a search for self glory.

Each person I encountered offered pieces of themselves and shared their story.

Those tales helped strengthen my resolve and thrust me forward.

Maybe in the future I’ll bear witness to the delicious fruits grown in my orchard.

Years have passed and look at how far I have come.

Strong willed and goal driven. I’m proud of the man I’ve become.

My eyes have sharpened to the point where I can clearly see the road ahead of me.

It was plagued by the encounter of another road perpendicular to itself creating a large T.

I walked to the center of the road and pulled out my flashlight.

The light revealed two possible futures when shined from left to right.

Riddled with conflicting choices, I closed my eyes for a possible solution.

I dropped the flashlight and proceeded to engage a revolution.

My mind’s eye was soon blinded by what seemed to be an array of spectral beams.

Follow me as I create my own path within my lucid dreams.

-C. Davis

Creative Commons License
Team CREATE by Christopher Davis is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://docscastle.wordpress.com/category/c-davis-poems/.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://docscastle.wordpress.com/my-other-pages/.

Have you read chapter 3 of Team CREATE? Read Chapter 3: Metamorphosis on Doc’s Castle Media.

One thought on “Chapter 4: Becoming A Man

  1. Pingback: Chapter 5: The Dreamscape | Doc's Castle Media

Leave a Reply

