Chapter 5: The Dreamscape

This feeling is scary and enticing, is it not?

Choosing a path filled with endless possibilities and failure ready to take your spot.

Now the first order of business is to flush this empty canvas.

Waves of cerulean rushed from the soles of my feet becoming an ocean deep and enormous.

I gathered clumps of the present blue and threw it into the air.

It merged with the white sky and the dark hue slowly disappears.

I stand at the epicenter of my world beneath the serenity of my sky.

Telepathically resurrected a land where my feet can rest and in turn a place where my head can lie.

I was beginning to get tired and found a position that was right.

The sky, closely watching my eyes, reflected my feelings and turned day into night.

I awoke to the gleaming light of the sun climbing over the horizon.

It warmed my skin and fueled the bulb that contained today’s new conception.

I decided to bend and forge a new ground beneath me.

Erected a small, spiked spire and reduced it into sand then merged it with the sea.

From that point on, I was unable to concentrate the creativity that flows out of me endlessly.

So I began to meditate, reciting mantras, in order to communicate with a higher being spiritually.

My eyes proceeded to open up slowly and my physical form rested in front of me.

And there I witnessed vines and roots emerge from the ground and proceed to ensnare my body.

The roots elevated above me and intertwined themselves to form a gigantic tree.

The vines gave birth to an Eden that bloomed with colorful, multi-pedaled lotuses for all to see.

It was evident that my physical form, filled with knowledge, provided nutrients for these organic beings.

Roots sifted through each artery and vein until they reached my core continuing the inner hollowing.

My body was soon to undergo another metamorphosis.

And I reminisce how I’d changed from beast to monster then reduced to a man with life as the catalyst.

Suddenly my spirit inquired about the development of a new host.

It needed to be hardened by experience and able to turn failures into transparent ghosts.

Slowly I receded into the nutrient-rich earth ready for body and spirit to become one.

The unification had been completed and a new installment of my dream had begun.

Gaia displayed my new body by splitting herself open; A painful C-section.

And the villagers, comprised of plants and animals, raised my body in celebration.

I initially stepped onto this earth with same means as all humans; to change it.

But I learned to do that which others couldn’t do which was to love and respect it.

My new purpose is to constantly rebuild every aspect that exists.

Expanding my dreams to the farthest of corners of my mind no matter what obstacles subsist.

Hopefully the dreams will live vicariously through the lives of my next generation.

For the possibilities present in the dreamscape are never ending.

-C. Davis

Creative Commons License
CREATE by Christopher Davis is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://docscastle.wordpress.com/category/c-davis-poems/.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://docscastle.wordpress.com/my-other-pages/.

Catch up on more of C. Davis poems! Read Chapter 4: Becoming A Man.

Leave a Reply

