Lil Boosie’s Freedom Relevant to Jesus Christ’s Resurrection

The title to my article today sums up how my Twitter and Instagram timeline looked last night. Memes and Tweets galore for the rapper who’s now considered a former convict of the Louisiana State Penitentiary.

20140306-083849.jpg

Lil Boosie was released Wednesday night, March 5, 2014, after being incarcerated since June 2010. It’s been a long four years for Boosie Fans. But his sentences did not keep his fans from being loyal supporters during his battle with the judicial system for multiple offenses. He was later found not guilty. Now, Boosie’s free.

But as I see all this commotion happening across all my social media channels, I can’t help to think how ridiculous Boosie’s release from prison has the people on my Twitter and Instagram Timelines reacting. People are acting as if the messiah has come to set us free. I’m obviously not the only one who thinks that.

20140305-222844.jpg

There’s nothing wrong with being happy for Boosie’s release, but to take it to the point where people are getting into serious arguments about whether people are “bandwagon fans” or “true Boosie fans” is just plain absurd. Why does it matter? How does this change our lives? Boosie’s human like the rest of us and, to me, hasn’t done anything significant or worth saying he’s changed my life. He’s had a few good songs. But Boosie never once helped me get through the struggles of my everyday life. If he’d pay off my school loans, I’d be a happy son-of-a-gun. If he’d help me find a new job, car, and apartment, I’d love him forever. He’s not so why act like he saved the human race or my soul?

I participated in conversations about Boosie last night to have a few laughs about our sudden “National Free Boosie Day.” I never thought it’d bring so much emotions out of the people who look to this rapper as an inspiration. For what? I’ll never understand because though Boosie has made it to heights that many people may never achieve, his lifestyle is not destined for many to live his exact path. How can he have so much praise from millions who can’t relate to his story or struggle? Calm down. Boosie is just a man who paved his way out of the hood like many others before him. I’m hoping people will open their eyes to simply seeing it as his story, and that they’ll seek to create a story of their own instead of praising him by trying to mimic his exact lifestyle. Boosie isn’t God now. He does not give you life.

I’m happy for his return but I hope that Boosie sees himself as a big influence in society. His actions matter. People try to mimic his every move. There is so much power behind what he does, and if he uses that power in a positive light, so much can change. Being a “real nigga” has nothing to do with creating a better world for everyone. It’s about integrity and character. He has potential. He recently received his GED so we can already see that he wants better for himself. If he can inflict that motivation onto his fan base, it’d be awesome and we might possibly have a better outcome for this rising generation. We can only hope for the best. So I’m pray Boosie’ll be a positive influence on society, encourage our young black men to be better and live better.

Boosie isn’t Jesus Christ. No one yelled Free Jesus while he hung on that cross. To me, Jesus took the realest punishment, I’m just saying. But to each his own. What’s your opinion on the release of Lil Boosie from prison? Do you think people overreacted or do you believe he deserve the praise? Leave comments below.

Leave a Reply

