YTube Vid of the Week: I Luh God (Trap Gospel Song) by Mary Mary’s Erica Campbell

Would you change the way you get a message across to someone if you felt you weren’t being heard?

Seems like that’s a question religious communities often ask when it comes to getting their message heard by a younger audience. There’s a constant debate between conservative and liberal believers about changing their delivery to reach youth. But while they’re changing their delivery, could it be possible they could be altering their most important messages?

I wonder what Erica Campbell was thinking when she created her latest gospel hit “I Luh God,” which video was released this week.

Gospel hit singer of “God in Me” has taken it up a notch by introducing her listeners to a new style of gospel we haven’t heard her do before. I’ll even say it makes me raise an eyebrow. I never thought the infamous MaryMary would result to “keeping up” with the ages. I often wonder about what’s happening in this current era of gospel music.

What in the world is “Trap Gospel?”

There’s only one video I’ve seen that could come close to my idea of what Trap Gospel might be and it was found while scrolling my Facebook time line. (Click here to listen to I’m In Love with The Cocoa Gospel Version). No one can top the I’m In Love with the Cocoa hit!

The instrumental for “I Luh God” and its repetitive phrase “I Luh God” lost me as I forgot why I love God while I heard the song!! (I really didn’t forget. I’m just over exaggerating.) It’s annoying to hear. The only good that came from the song was the beat. I could have stole it and rapped or sung on it myself.

There’s so much more to be said about the creator of the universe. Wouldn’t you even say that’s the least? The word “gospel” alone stands for Jesus’ story, which we heard nothing about in this song. I wouldn’t choose to name this gospel music at all. But is it trap music? No, it’s just Ms. Campbell singing over a trap beat.

I have a question, too. What’s luh? “Luh” isn’t a word, though.

I get the point but I always think of what could God be thinking when he hears people singing this song? Does he say “I luh you, too?” or does he ask why the actual word love wasn’t used? Does he think that using luh verses love changes the message he hopes to convey?

There’s nothing wrong with creating a new genre referred to as “Trap gospel.” There’s nothing wrong with creating a new genre of music at all. But gospel music is used to uplift and deliver an important message, and when it’s purpose isn’t met, how can it be used to change lives around them? Gospel music without the gospel in it is simply music; words on a beat.

What are your thoughts? Has gospel music turned for the better or worse? Leave your comments below.

Baltimore’s own Young Moose made Ytube Vid of the Week. Watch “No SunShine” featuring Martina Lynch on Doc’s Castle Media.

2 thoughts on “YTube Vid of the Week: I Luh God (Trap Gospel Song) by Mary Mary’s Erica Campbell

  1. I agree with this whole heartedly…I like what she is trying to do but it just isnt working as well as “God In Me”did .

  2. Pingback: YTube Vid of the Week: Does Racism Still Exist? | Doc's Castle Media

Leave a Reply

